Phil the Motorcyclenut’s Weblog

Writes about motorcycles and nothing else

DR650 Supermoto

with 6 comments

Thanks to Kevin at Warp9, I received the correct brake bracket today and finished my supermoto conversion of my DR650. I converted the chain to a 520 after getting a 520 counter shaft sprocket so now everything matches along with the 520 rear sprocket that came with the kit. I also installed a Trailtech Vapor computer so that I could still have a speedometer, but now also have a tachometer, clock, temp gauge and a few other goodies I’ll probably never use.

The DR feels so much more nimbler now and with the gearing at 3:1 instead of the stock 2.8:1, it is accelerating a bit harder and the front end gets a bit light, if you know what I mean. As soon as I get the tires scrubbed in and the brakes bedded in, I’ll give a full report. Here’s some pictures for now:

Written by motorcyclenut

August 5, 2010 at 7:02 PM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a super good looking thumper……………new generation/next generation if you know what I mean! I’ve never seen brakes like those. Looks like so sort of disc brake system. Little bit different than my TT500….LOL. I’ll bet that sob will get up and go!!! What does something like that cost now days?
    I’ve got a new project now. Finished the 1981 Honda C70 restoration and am now restoring a 1970 Honda CL100, 40 years old bike. Found on craigs list a few weeks ago, two of them that had been stored in Utah…so no rust and both in pretty good shape…$950.00 for both. Couldn’t pass it up. Cleaned the rusty fuel tank with muriatic acid, cleaned the carb with chem dip and choke cleaner, replaced the oil and air filter, serviced the cock pet. Fired right up and runs like new now. Another 40 year old Vintage Honda Motorcycle brought back to life. Now for the cosmetic issues.

    Larry G

    August 6, 2010 at 5:03 PM

    • Thanks Larry. Actually, the DR650 has been around since the early 90’s and is considered low tech by today’s standards. It’s air cooled, has the old set screw/locknut valve adjusters, and uses a carburetor. It only has around 35 hp. The high end thumpers by KTM, Husky, and a few others are all water cooled, shim/bucket valve adjustment and way more powerful (and expensive) and the Yamaha 250 Supermoto is fuel injected.

      The wheels were made by Warp9 (warp9racing.com) and came complete with the sprocket and brake rotors and adapter for the 320mm front brake rotor. I am using the stock calipers.

      I hope you have checked out the VJMC as we discussed before, I think you would enjoy it. I am glad you are having fun restoring those old Hondas. Sure brings back some old memories and reminds us how old we are really getting and how great our teenaged lives really was back then. Too bad most kids today cannot experience all the things we did back in the day.

      motorcyclenut

      August 7, 2010 at 8:20 AM

  2. First off, great blog. How are you like the SM setup compared to the stock wheels? I am thinking of doing this conversion to my 09 DR. Can you tell a major difference?

    The bike looks great!

    Eric

    Eric M

    August 10, 2010 at 6:08 PM

    • Thanks! Just looked at your blog as well and I like it!

      As far as the wheels go, there is a big difference, I would not say major. But the major difference is the front brake! I’ll know more about the wheel difference after I go back to Adams and do another track day, as I have rode there before with the stock wheels. Keep in touch Eric!

      motorcyclenut

      August 10, 2010 at 7:25 PM

  3. Looks gr8 I just got a 2012 dr650 to commute 60mi a day to NYC and back. I like it but a Lil dissapointed It’s not comfy at all and if I do the supermoto kit that gearing is ok for highway

    Al

    April 6, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    • Check out drriders.com. There is so much info on everything about the DR650, from the best seats to large tanks for going the distance.

      motorcyclenut

      April 6, 2012 at 5:37 PM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

